Welcome to Chiron Return - Planet Waves FM
Planet Waves FM from Chiron Return - Pacifica Radio Network
My Feminist Journey
16
0:00
-1:23:01

My Feminist Journey

I was raised under the influence of the 'Women's Liberation' movement. In this presentation from Planet Waves FM, I describe what I learned from feminist thought — and what I've learned about it.
16
Workers, um, Women of the World, Unite!
That sign really looks like it says “Free Eric.” Lovely of them!

Dear Friend and Listener:

It is rare to hear an informed perspective on the influence of feminism, whether as an intellectual or social movement. That is what I have for you today.

As casually as “gender studies” is offered on campuses, it is equally taboo to discuss the actual impact and influence of feminism on society. The matter goes largely unexamined, and its doctrines and outcomes go unquestioned. The wisdom and benefit of feminism are supposed to be accepted as articles of faith.

Direct Experiences of an Editor and English Major

In this discussion, I track my direct experience of feminist movements and ideas first via my mom, the women’s libber, through John Dewey High School, university, grad school and then as a writer interested in the issue. Carol Hanisch of Redstockings, Simeone de Beauvoir (The Second Sex), Kate Millett (Sexual Politics) and her sister Mallory, and my friend, mentor and participant in history, Betty Dodson, all factor in the discussion.

Note, I never took any form of gender studies in an academic setting.

Rather, my exposure was through English courses, plus serving as an editor, being a tantric student and sex educator, and generally, a devoted scholar of the topic. I learned much through writing (and the public’s responses to my articles).

My 25-year friendship with Betty (author of Sex for One) was an ongoing review of history, as told by one of the most important founders of Second Wave. I observe that she had the only revolutionary idea of the supposed “sexual revolution.”

Presented by Planet Waves FM

The discussion presented above is part of the Sept. 15, 2023 edition of Planet Waves FM on the Pacifica Radio Network. We are a project of Chiron Return, the nonprofit devoted to providing mentorship opportunities for journalists, and orienting our readers and listeners within the chaos of the digital space.

Resources

Compulsory Heterosexuality and Lesbian Existence by Adrienne Rich (see graphic below, which describes heterosexuality as politically disempowering to women)

My Sister Kate – Interview with Mallory Millett — from The Eagle Forum

What I Learned from Betty Dodson — interviews with Eric Francis

This segment is available included with the original program, which also contains two excellent interviews. Thank you for tuning in.

We are a mission-centered rather than content-centered Substack. Subscription fees go to the nonprofit Chiron Return.

From my original copy of Compulsory Heterosexuality and Lesbian Existence by Adrienne Rich; from the book Blood, Bread and Poetry.
16 Comments
Welcome to Chiron Return - Planet Waves FM
Planet Waves FM from Chiron Return - Pacifica Radio Network
Planet Waves FM is published by Chiron Return - Pacifica Radio Network. We are a commercial free program that began on Radio Woodstock in September 1996.